Never send an iPhone photo over text without doing the ‘meta trick’ first

Texting people’s photos taken on your iPhone carries a lot of risk unless you’ve changed THESE settings.

That’s because your iPhone photos contain hidden information that can share where you live, work, and visit often.

2

Photos sent via iMessage are a security riskCredit: Getty – Contributor

It’s called metadata, and it’s stored in photos you send via iMessage — even those you send to strangers.

Here’s how to prevent your iPhone from saving your location in your camera snaps so you can share them safely.

What is iPhone Photo Metadata?

Metadata is a hidden set of data that provides information about and describes files such as images, videos, and documents.

When it comes to your iPhone photos, metadata is stored in the file about the time it was taken, the location of the shot, and more.

For example, it allows your mobile to sort your photos in chronological order or where they were taken.

It also allows iOS to create video montages called “Memories” of your travels, which are saved in the “For You” section of Photos.

The problem is that data is retained on photos you send through Apple services like iMessage and AirDrop.

It means someone else can easily read your metadata if you send them your snaps.

That means they can find out where you live, work, or visit often with just a few taps.

You can tell your iPhone not to store metadata on images and videos in your device’s settings.

Fortunately, your location and other metadata are erased from images uploaded to social media – so anything posted to Facebook or Instagram is safe.

Remove location information from a photo

Below each image in your Photos, you can see its approximate location by swiping up.

Your iPhone will also tell you the time and date it was created, the device it was created on, the size of the file, and more.

You can also read this data by tapping the information button (i) below your photo.

To remove location information from an image, do the following:

  1. Navigate to the photo of your choice and swipe up
  2. Tap “Edit” in the bottom right corner of the map
  3. Tap “No Location” to remove the location’s metadata

Disable Location Metadata

You can also ask your iPhone not to record location information when you take photos.

1. Open the Settings app

2. Tap “Privacy” > “Location Services”.

3. Scroll down and tap “Camera”.

4. Select “Never”.

Your iPhone stores location and other data in your photos as hidden 'metadata'

2

Your iPhone stores location and other data in your photos as hidden ‘metadata’Credit: Alamy
I’m An Ex Apple Worker And Here Are The Secret iPhone Tricks That Will Make Your Life A Lot Easier

In other news, Apple has announced that it will allow customers to repair their own iPhones for the first time starting next year.

The UK is fighting an epidemic of hacking attacks targeting consumers and businesses, officials said.

NASA knocked down Russia after a rocket it fired at one of its own satellites forced the space station to perform an emergency dodge.

And a 75-year-old Briton has spoken out about his anger after scammers on WhatsApp tricked him into sending them hundreds of pounds.


We pay for your stories! Do you have a story for the team at The Sun Online Tech & Science? Email us at tech@the-sun.co.uk


Leave a Comment