SEC cross-country teams in action this weekend

1 day ago
SEC staff

Photo: Arkansas Athletics

BIRMINGHAM, Alabama (September 29, 2021)—– Twelve Southeastern Conference cross-country programs will be in action this weekend at six different locations. Alabama, Auburn, Florida, Kentucky, Ole Miss and Vanderbilt will travel to South Bend, Indiana for the annual Joe Piane Invitational, while Arkansas and Missouri will host two cross country meets. The Razorbacks will be joined by LSU at the Chile Pepper Festival, while Missouri and Texas A&M will compete in the Gans Creek Classic on the course where the SEC Championships will be held later this season.

Elsewhere around the SEC this weekend, Mississippi State will compete in the Live in Lou Cross Country Classic on Saturday, while South Carolina will compete in the Paul Short Run in Bethlehem, Pa., And Florida runners will compete in UCF Invitational.

In the rankings

Six SEC teams were included in the national top-25 this week. Alabama and Arkansas are ranked No.6 and 10 in the women’s poll, while Ole Miss is No.15. On the men’s side, Arkansas is the top-ranked men’s team at No.8, while Alabama is 15th and Ole Miss is 18th.

Weekend in review

The Arkansas men won the tag team title in the Coast-to-Coast Battle in Beantown on Friday. The Razorbacks were led by a brace from Gilbert Boit and Amon Kemboi. Boit and Kemboi both clocked 24: 07.4 on the 8,000m course at Franklin Park. The Arkansas women finished third in the Bill Dellinger Invitational as Lauren Gregory improved the collegiate field over 6,000m with a time of 20 minutes, 6.9 seconds on Thursday.

The Tennessee Women’s National Team placed three top 20 runners on Friday at the 35th Roy Griak Invitational as they headed for a third place overall. On the men’s side, the Vols finished eighth to Roy Griak.

Eric Casarez of Texas A&M won the men’s individual 8km title, setting a Dale Watts Cross Country Course record (23: 04.00), while the Aggies women’s team won the overall tag team title on Saturday morning in Texas A&M Team Invitational.

Leave a Comment